Environmental Advisory Council
What is an EAC?
Environmental Advisory Councils (EACs) are officially created arms of Pennsylvania’s municipal governments that focus exclusively on environmental conservation and improvement. EACs act as advisors to the governing boards that appoint them and to the local planning commissions, giving municipal governments a pool of hometown talent to draw upon when they make decisions affecting the environmental resources in their communities.

EACs undertake a wide variety of projects and information-gathering tasks, providing energy and objective, in-depth analysis about environmental resource issues. Since municipal ordinances and decisions advised by sound science often prove successful and enduring, EACs can be a huge benefit to the communities that create them. Any municipality in Pennsylvania may create an EAC by ordinance, making this resource available wherever it may be needed.

The formation of Lower Saucon's EAC came in response to directives contained in the 2000 update of the township's  Comprehensive Plan and the township's Natural Resource Inventory of the same year. Recognition of the need for environmental protections entered the public's consciousness shortly after residential development began to exert pressure on our community and our disappearing natural areas. This prompted public officials to work together with the public to institute programs and ordinances that would preserve our resources, our natural beauty and the rural character of large parts of our community.

We meet monthly and discuss a variety of environmental issues facing the township and provide advice and recommendations to the Township Council.

View at Polk Valley Park

EAC Meetings & Members

Meetings generally held on the 2nd Tuesday of each month, starting at 7:00 PM at Lower Saucon Township Townhall.

The EAC shall be comprised of seven (7) residents who shall be Members and five (5) residents who shall be Associates. Whenever possible, at least one (1) Member shall be a Township Planning Commissioner. At least five (5) Members shall be citizen members. Membership shall be limited to two (2) elected officials.

Terms: Member shall be three (3) year terms and Associate shall be one (1) year terms.

Sandra Yerger - Chair (12/31/17)
Hazam Hijazi - Vice Chairman (12/31/20)
Laura Ray - Secretary (12/31/19)

Allan Johnson, Jr. - Member (12/31/17)
Ted Beardsley - Member (12/31/18)
Dru Germanoski - Member (12/31/18)
Sarah Stanlick- Member (12/31/17)

Glenn Kaye - Associate (12/31/17)
Michael Boyle - Associate (12/31/17)
Jordan Davco - Associate (12/31/17)
Thomas Carocci - Associate (12/31/17)
David Jauregui - Associate (12/31/17)

Terry Boos - Hellertown Representative
Brynn Bambu - Jr. Council Member

2017 Meeting Dates

January 10, 2017
February 14, 2017
March 14 , 2017
April 11, 2017
May 9, 2017
June 13, 2017

Recent past meeting minutes

July 11, 2017
August 8, 2017
September 12, 2017
October 10, 2017
November 14, 2017
December 12, 2017
March 2017 - No Meeting
April 2017
May 2017
June 2017 - No Meeting
July 2017 - No Meeting
​August 2017 - No Meeting